Various Artists
Spawn (Again): A Tribute to Silverchair

1. The Amity Affliction – Tomorrow
2. Void of Vision – Israel’s Son
3. In Hearts Wake – Freak
4. The Brave – Cemetery
5. Northlane – Anthem For The Year 2000
6. Hands Like Houses – Ana’s Song (Open Fire)
7. Ocean Grove – Spawn (Again)
8. Storm The Sky – Emotion Sickness
9. Tonight Alive – Without You
10. Columbus – Straight Lines





Released 2017-11-17
Reviewed 2018-02-28


Great success is probably one thing you can say about Australian band Silverchair who has had all their five albums reaching the top of the Australian charts and sold millions of records. It is about twenty years now since their successful album Freakshow and now we see some strong Australian bands inspired by Silverchair putting together a tribute album. For someone like myself it is a bit surprising to read about how bit Silverchair was/is, I only really know them because of their single Anthem for the Year 2000 and the subsequent album Neon Ballroom both of which I got somewhere in the record shelves.

On the whole I think that this is a rather coherent album for one of the various variety, perhaps thanks to the same song writing even though the songs are performed by different band. Sure it is quite mixed in style between the artists/songs but they fit together well and they keep it sensible like a normal album with ten tracks and a playing time slightly under 40 minutes. Good variation of course and good performances and production throughout the album, some of the songs feel quite faithful to the originals while other have a strong personal touch for the band performing it.

Outstanding Anthem for the Year 2000 by Northlane, I really like that one – perhaps because I knew the song best or perhaps because I like Northlane best of the performing band but I think that is the best of the album. At least it is the most memorable track of the whole thing. No track stands out in a negative sense, which is of course a very strong point for the album. An album I think I can recommend as it is a strong effort with ten strong tracks and so on, it is a really good collection of bands and songs.

Do you like Silverchair? If you do I recommend this album, as it is a good and fresh representation of their music, in fact I doubt you can really go wrong with this album. It may not be super fantastic but it is a very strong album that will not disappoint and with that statement I leave this review by playing Northlane’s interpretation of Anthem for the Year 2000 once more.





Label: UNFD
Three similar bands: Silverchair/Northlane/Ocean Grove

Rating: HHHHHHH (4/7)
Reviewer: Daniel Källmalm

läs på svenska