Live at Donington 1990

Disc 1
1. Slip of the Tongue
2. Slide It In
3. Judgement Day
4. Slow An' Easy
5. Kittens Got Claws
6. Adagio for Strato
7. Flying Dutchman Boogie
8. Is This Love
9. Cheap An' Nasty
10. Crying in the Rain (featuring Tommy Aldridge drum solo)

Disc 2
1. Fool for Your Loving
2. For the Love of God
(from the Steve Vai album Passion and Warfare)
3. The Audience Is Listening
(from the Steve Vai album Passion and Warfare)
4. Here I Go Again
5. Bad Boys
6. Ain't No Love in the Heart of the City
7. Still of the Night

1. Slip of the Tongue
2. Slide It In
3. Judgement Day
4. Slow An Easy
5. Kittens Got Claws
6. Adagio for Stato
7. Flying Dutchman Boogie
8. Is This Love
9. Cheap An Nasty
10. Crying In The Rain (featuring Tommy Aldridge drum solo)
11. Fool for Your Loving
12. For the Love of God
13. The Audience Is Listening
14. Here I Go Again
15. Bad Boys
16. Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City
17. Still of the Night
18. The Making of Slip of the Tongue; Slide Show" (Bonus content) 1990)

David Coverdale – lead
Steve Vai – guitars
Adrian Vandenberg – guitars
Rudy Sarzo – bass
Tommy Aldridge – drums, percussion

Trouble (1978)
Lovehunter (1979)
Ready an' Willing (1980)
Come an' Get It (1981)
Saints & Sinners (1982)
Slide It In (1984)
Whitesnake (1987)
Slip of the Tongue (1989)
Restless Heart (1997)
Good to Be Bad (2008)
Forevermore (2011)
Live at Hammersmith (1980)
Live...In the Heart of the City (1980)
Starkers in Tokyo (1998)
Live: in The Still Of The Night (DVD 2004)
Live: In The Shadow Of The Blues (2006)


18 August 1990 at Castle Donington, UK

Released 2011-05-20
Reviewed 2011-06-06

Last FM

Do you want to hear something deeply shocking? I hate live albums! Perhaps not deeply shocking after all, if you've read Hallowed before and seen my complains on live albums before. The only time I think a live album is justified is when bands record something very unique. But as you who read my review on Whitesnakes 'Forevermore' - the latest Whitesnake album released this spring - you know that I think this is a live band and if anything perhaps the dictionary definition of a live band. So, is Whitesnake the band that could get away with making a live album? Well, that calls for a clarification. First of all, any band can do a good live album - it's all about making a live album feel like something special. That is special. The normal case is that live albums have worse sound than a studio album. Worse sound. worse timing, worse versions of the songs. Very few exceptions. But if the recording feels special then all this doesn't matter. But if it's not - then why should we care?

This live album with Whitesnake was recorded more than 20 years ago, on a stage near Donington Castle, where bands like Iron Maiden, AC/DC and Saxon (to mention a few). This means the material has been lying around for some years until now. It will be released as both CD and DVD, but we've only heard the CD-version that comes on two discs and contains 17 Whitesnake songs with the Whitesnake of 1990 that was a bit different from Whitesnake of today. For example, Steve Vai played the guitar, which makes this his second Whitesnake album during his few years with the band (with the first being 'Slip of the Tongue' from 1989). In the pile of songs, some tracks shines brighter than the rest - like Still of the Night, Here I Go Again, Fool For Your Loving and Is This Love to mention a few. But there are also some unusual songs in there, like Slow An' Easy and the two Steve Vai songs For The Love of God and The Audience is Listening. So, if you can't do a special live album you can always do like this and wait for 20 years and then release it. After all, time changes set-lists and perhaps also the way people look at the songs - which ones that are good and which ones that isn't - and this should make the album more interesting regardless of its actual level of interest. But is that really all of value on this, the sitxh live album from Whitesnake (chronologically the third seen to when it was recorded)? Or are there more which could interest people?

Well, for starters we have Mr Steve Vai, the man that can play guitars better than a fat person can eat thrash food. His skill gets very apparent in the instrumental Adagio for Strato and his own songs. David Coverdale on the other hand sounds like he usually does - as if he's been grinding rusty old truck engines and eaten them as breakfast before going on stage. His voice is hard like iron and rugged like rust, making his voice sound smooth as crushed rock. Some might find a sort of beauty in it, though it's simply gravel for most people. The rest of the band is pretty anonymous, except from drummer Tommy Aldridge who was present on the same studio album as Vai but have also been the drummer on the two latest live albums ('In The Still Of The Night' from 2004 and 'In The Shadow Of The Blues' from 2006). Along with Vai, Aldridge is one of the best things with this album and he shows why he's been playing with acts like Thin Lizzy, Gary Moore and Ozzy Osbourne to mention a few. The best songs on this album is in my opinion Here I Go Again, Bad Boys and Ain't No Love which is peaking an otherwise quite dull album. It stays on a pretty average level most of the time between what's interesting and annoying to hear. It sounds just like how Whitesnake sound live, but it's not the same thing as being there and experience them. Because being at a Whitesnake show is an experience but this live album is somewhat better than the common live album, but still a live album and still as annoying as live albums usually are.

But there are a hint of the mood of being there in this album. Sound-wise it's very much like being there. It's the emotion-part where it isn't. This is an album I really don't see a necessity with - there are several live albums with Whitesnake already released and this makes me wonder why would need another one? Which is 20 years old as well. Well, for the die hard fans perhaps. Whitesnake is, when all comes around, one of the best live-bands there is. But I think the latest studio album is miles better than this! Live music is something to experience there and then, listening at home is the territory of the studio album and if you still want to release live material then the video format is way better! This album is released on DVD as well and without seeing it, I totally recommend you to buy that instead of the CD- or mp3-versions!


Label - Frontiers
Three similar bands - Magnum/Fair Warning/Myland
Recensent: Caj Källmalm