Various Artists
The Wall [redux]

Side A
1. In the Flesh? - The Melvins
2. The Thin Ice - Low Flying Hawks
3. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 1 - Ghastly Sound
4. The Happiest Days of Our Lives - Sergeant Thunderhoof
5. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 2 - Sasquatch
6. Mother - ASG
Side B
1. Goodbye Blue Sky - Mos Generator
2. Empty Spaces - Domkraft
3. Young Lust - The Slim Kings
4. One of My Turns - Worshipper
5. Don't Leave Me Now - Spaceslug
6. When the Tigers Broke Free - Year of the Cobra
7. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 3 / Goodbye Cruel World - Greenleaf
Side C
1. Hey You - Summoner
2. Is There Anybody Out There? - Scott Reeder
3. Nobody Home - Mark Lanegan
4. Vera - Ruby the Hatchet
5. Bring the Boys Back Home - Sunflo'er
6. Comfortably Numb - Mars Red Sky
Side D
1. The Show Must Go On - Open Hand
2. In the Flesh - Solace
3. Run Like Hell - Pallbearer
4. Waiting for the Worms - WhiteNails
5. Stop - Blue Heron
6. The Trial - Church of The Cosmic Skull
7. Outside the Wall - Yawning Man





Released 2018-11-09
Reviewed 2018-11-08

magnetic eye records

Wish You Were Here and The Wall by the majestic music heroes called Pink Floyd are two albums that have followed me through my entire life; from the time I was born until today. And today I am writing about an album that was made in tribute to The Wall, this majestic creation and it features 26 artists doing 26 tracks on double vinyl. It is the label Magnetic Eye Records who has put together this majestic undertaking that features artists like The Melvins, Low Flying Hawks, Spaceslug, Mars Red Sky to name a few of the artists that are found on this album doing their versions of Pink Floyd’s creations. And I think the artwork is pretty cool, but what about the album? Do they do justice to the songs created many decades ago? And is it an album worth getting?

An album that feels pretty true to its inspiration, it feels similar to the original album but also with a fresh sound. And for an album with so many different artists it feels quite coherent, perhaps due to the strong compositions by Pink Floyd all those years ago. The variation is strong and while listening to it you tend to forget that it is a long album, and you also tend to forget that it is an album consisting of songs performed by many different artists. The album has strong productions and I think the interpretations are really well made with a fresh enough take on the songs, and it feels like revisiting an old friend and realising that there is a lot more to this friend than you first thought. And thinking that in relation to such an album as The Wall makes it rather impressive.

Like the original I find this album to be quite impressive – actually it is so impressive that I have ordered myself a vinyl copy of the album myself, anyone who likes The Wall should have this one. The songs are all great and the performances are strong through the entire album, there is nothing to dislike and one has to be impressed with how Magnetic Eye Records managed to put together this great tribute to a great album. I recommend that you have a look at this album, especially if you like Pink Floyd or The Wall.

Listening to this album has been quite great and I especially like that magnificent song called Comfortably Numb, a song that sings of the feeling you get after taking that sleeping pill ahead of bedtime, excellently performed by Mars Red Sky. But I like all the songs and I really like the album, otherwise I would not have ordered it. So the conclusion will have to be that this album is quite impressive and you should have a closer look at it. With that concluded all that remains is to tip my hat to those behind this excellent album.





Label: Magnetic Eye Records
Three similar bands: Pink Floyd//

Rating: HHHHHHH (5/7)
Reviewer: Daniel Källmalm

läs på svenska